top of page

Week 5 - What is Your RPE??

This week we will be evaluating exercises that we do/do not enjoy doing as well as the RPE that we excise within. This is a 2 Blog Week, so make sure that you read both blogs to be ready for today's meeting.


Anyone who has been to one of my classes knows that I will go slower then faster then slower and then faster before finally doing a cool-down. This may seem odd, but honestly, I do that routine for a reason. In order to get your maximum effort, I need to bring your heart rate up and then back down to give you a bit of a break before ramping you back up again. This is, in part, so you can reach your maximum RPE during the workouts.


So what is RPE? RPE stands for Relative Perceived Exertion. RPE means “How hard do I feel that I am exercising?” It is a tool you use to tell yourself how your body is feeling when you exercise. You want to exercise in numbers 4-7 getting moderate to vigorous exercise. That means your body is getting the right among to be healthy.


I have attached a document here that can help you figure out your RPE. During Workouts, I would like you to think about how hard you are working out. Are you consistently staying between 4 & 7? Can you push yourself a little further during the high-intensity portions of your workout? Let's keep track of that this week.

Fit & Fab - RPE Scale
.docx
Download DOCX • 1.08MB

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page