top of page

How Do I Get Started on My Own Journey?

Nobody ever got anywhere by not starting. Every day you sit and think about starting a new journey in health & fitness, but you do not know where to start. Well, what if I tell you that 'starting' is as simple as 'starting'.


I was recently reading a question from someone online saying 'I want to start walking longer distances but I do not know where you start'. Well, I'm here to tell you that you can just start!! Yes, I know, you're not going to be able to immediately walk 3 miles, 1 mile or even maybe a half a mile but take your walking beyond where you are right now. Put one foot in front of the other and go... Run Forest... Run!


I had a friend who was asking me how far she should walk. I asked her how far she currently walks. Living in a rural area, she told me she walks from her house down to the end of her quarter-mile driveway every day to check the mail. Her distance being a half-mile a day. I asked her what prevented her from going out onto the road and walking further. There was nothing that prevented her from walking forward but she had built the mental fence for herself at the end of her drive way.


I encouraged her that the next day go to the end of the driveway and then walk down to the next mail box (approximately an eighth of a mile away). She told me the next day she not only walked to the neighboring mail box, but she actually felt great doing so. That was a year ago and now she walks to the main road every day or walks at the community park in town every day - making her daily total about 3 miles a day! It started with one step outside of her comfort zone and keeping up the great work!!


So, how do you start on your health & fitness journey? Take one step... What is that step? Push yourself past the invisible barrier that you have put up for yourself. Try a workout video online. Contact me and set a goal setting session. Whatever it is... take a step and then another and before you know it... you will be making strides in your goals!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page